# **Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association (ARGA)**

## **Annual General Meeting 2009**

Minutes of the 1<sup>st</sup> AGM of the Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association held in the Macbeth Lecture Theatre, Badger Laboratories, The University of Adelaide, at 11.00 AM on Monday 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2009

**Present:** Lisa Worrall (President), John Keeling (Treasurer), Robert Dart (Secretary and minute taker), Steve Hill, Ashlyn Johnson, Byron Dietman, Laura Klingberg & Verity Normington.

**Apologies:** Ian Roach, Jon Clarke, Colin Pain & John Wilford. Proxy forms lodged for Ian Roach to Steve Hill and for Colin Pain, Jon Clarke and John Wilford to Lisa Worrall.

#### Welcome and apologies

Lisa Worrall opened the meeting and welcomed everyone to the inaugural annual general meeting of the Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association (ARGA).

#### **Reports**

- 1. Public Officer John Keeling informed the meeting that the idea for a regolith association came from conversations with CRC LEME students, in particular from Adelaide University, who were keen to maintain contact with colleagues involved in regolith research. One way to do this was to hold a regular conference or symposium that focussed on regolith research. The formation of the Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association (ARGA) was to give responsibility to a body to organise such a meeting. ARGA membership is not about joining another professional body, but rather to maintain a current record of member's contact details and to facilitate a regular meeting for scientific exchange of ideas. This is reflected in the membership requirements. Annual membership can be through formal nomination by two members of the Association and payment of \$1 or, the preferred way, is through participation in a regolith conference where registration and attendance gives automatic membership for 4 years. John acknowledged the efforts of former CEO of CRC LEME, Lisa Worrall, in recommending to the Board of CRC LEME that a sum of money from LEME residual funds be used to facilitate the holding of regolith conference by a body incorporated to promote regolith research. The result was that a sum of \$35,000 was agreed to be held in trust by Australian National University (ANU). These monies would be provided to an incorporated regolith association on condition that a conference was organised and run within 18 months of the date of the agreement that established the LEME Regolith Geoscience Endowment. ARGA was incorporated on 6 November 2008, and the 1<sup>st</sup> conference is to be held in February 2010.
  - An invoice and letter stating that the requirements of the CRC LEME board have been met is in draft form and will be submitted to ANU for payment of the \$35,000 in the near future.
- 2. **President** Lisa Worrall provided the meeting with an overview of the work undertaken to date and the activity of the self elected founding committee. The founding committee members and their office positions, decided at the first meeting were: Lisa Worrall

(President), John Keeling (Treasurer), Robert Dart (Secretary) (approved in absentia), Steve Hill, Colin Pain, Jon Clarke and Ian Roach (committee members). The aims of these early meetings were to get the Association up and running and to organise and promote the 1<sup>st</sup> conference.

Acceptance of President's report, moved Ashlyn Johnson, seconded Laura Klingberg

- **3. Secretary** Robert Dart reported to the meeting that membership now stood at 12. A general discussion on expected future membership suggested that 50 members could be expected initially with future levels likely to be between 100 and 150 members.
- 4. Treasurer John Keeling tabled a statement of financial position of ARGA Inc as at 30 June 2009. The total assets of the Association are \$0 and the income and expenditure for the period was \$0. A liability of \$150 is current, being the cost of the incorporation of the association. Since June 2009, the liability has increased to ~\$400 due to costs in setting up the web site, and PO Box address. A gift of \$35,000 from CRC LEME residual funds, which is currently held in trust by Australian National University (ANU), will be requested to be transferred to the Association in the next few weeks. Following the AGM, funds should begin to flow into the Association from memberships and conference registrations.

Acceptance of Treasurers report, moved Lisa Worrall, seconded Steve Hill.

- 5. Website manager Lisa Worrall on behalf of Ian Roach explained to the committee how Ian had sought out an internet host, registered and set up the ARGA website as regolith.org.au The site is to be used as an access point for people interested in regolith science in Australia and to advertise the activities of ARGA. Ian would welcome any feedback on the website, especially on how it can be improved. Ashlyn Johnson suggested that a facility whereby undergraduate students could "ask an expert" with responses from senior regolith geoscientists would be especially helpful.
- **6. Conference organisers** –Steve Hill summarised the status of the 1<sup>st</sup> ARGA conference, which had been the main activity of the committee to date. The conference is to be held from 21<sup>st</sup> to 27<sup>th</sup> February 2010 at Arkaroola in the Northern Flinders Ranges, South Australia. The dates include days for travelling to and from Arkaroola, which may include one or two stops of interest en route. Registration for the conference is \$300, not including food or accommodation, which should be booked directly with Arkaroola. Students get free registration.

Conference abstracts are to be submitted to Ian Roach by the 18<sup>th</sup> December, details of abstract layout is provided on the website. Posters are also welcome. The final talk / field trip program is to be confirmed, but is likely to be flexible to cater for potential extreme weather conditions at Arkaroola.

Steve thanked the Sprigg family and Terri at Arkaroola for their support of this conference.

Lisa Worrall suggested that current and newly starting PhD students be encouraged to talk about their projects. This would allow for more senior members to offer assistance and also help introduce the students to people from other organisations and universities.

Advertising of the conference is to be expanded beyond the ARGA website and initial mail out. Avenues proposed included the mailing lists for the SA mineral exploration through cover conference and SA explorer's conference.

## Election of Office bearers and three ordinary committee members

Robert Dart informed the meeting that nominations had been received prior to the AGM for all office positions. As only one nomination for each office position was received the candidates as listed below, were elected unopposed.

1. President: Lisa Worrall

2. Secretary: Robert Dart

3. Treasurer: John Keeling

4. Ordinary Committee members (3) Steve Hill, Ian Roach and Jon Clarke

### **Any Other Business**

Lisa Worrall moved, seconded by Steve Hill, that a conference sub-committee consisting of 4 additional ordinary members be formed to assist the conference organisers. The following were elected to this sub-committee: Ashlyn Johnson, Laura Klingberg, Byron Dietman and Verity Normington

Steve Hill Moved, seconded Lisa Worrall, that at the ordinary meeting to be held during the conference at Arkaroola, the rules of the association be amended to include a student as an additional committee member.

Meeting Close Lisa Worrall closed the meeting at 11.55 AM